D16Z6 build

Go down

D16Z6 build

Post  MainSubject on Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:58 am

I have a 94 cx with the 1.5l, that has blown oil rings. Needless to say I'm running that baby into the ground. I picked up a D16Z6 out of a 95 ex. It's got high miles, so I plan to rebuild it. But why rebuild it to factory specs? Eventually I'd like to turbo this engine, as for now I can only afford an all motor build. I've never built a performance engine before "not that this will be the bee's knee's" but I'd like to do it right and not cheap out, spending less money on quality parts is my goal.

I would like to know from thought or experience on what I should do for this motor. In about a month I will have a budget of 2k, however I wouldn't mind spending 1500 lol. so any suggestions such as sending my cam out to be shaved, milling the head, boring the cylinders, forged connecting rods & pistons for the later on turbo. 3 angle valve job, ect.

thanks for any insight guys!
MainSubject

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: D16Z6 build

Post  SpoonFed on Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:50 am

Really it's all up to what you want to do with the car. You need to ask yourself what is this car's purpose for you? What do you want to achieve with this car? Then start making a build list for the engine to see what all of this will cost you. I bet if you do anything than a stock rebuild you're going to find out this is going to cost more than $1500 to do.

I feel your pain on the burning oil issue, my b7 also has bad control rings and I'm burning monstrous amounts of oil right now and it kills me. Almost to the point I don't want to drive the car anymore... So I was going the same route you are talking, in my garage I have 2 z6 engines and my plans were to do a small build and put it in my car to get it going. But I started to think about all the questions that I posted before. And realized that I was going to be wasting money doing it that way...